Doctors and dentists with HIV/AIDs

Abacavir - a nucleoside analog reverse transcr...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s something I’ve looked into before, but I found an interesting article tonight:

Click here to see

I have deep sympathy for anyone that contracts the disease, but particularly those who simply could not prevent it; rape victims, babies born with it, etc. What makes matters more complex is when someone within Healthcare has this disease. As stated in the article I linked, there are regulations on declaring positive test results, and prohibitions when it comes to surgeries, sutures, and any situation that may pose a risk of transmission.

In short, it is not legal to fire a doctor or dentist for having HIV or AIDs, but their career is effectively over nonetheless. What a terrible thing for them, to have gone through so much schooling and hardship only to be brought down by a disease. In any other walk of life they may continue relatively as normal; because improved medication generally means a higher quality of life, and the delay of full-blown AIDs stemming from testing HIV positive.

But it is necessary, for others safety, that transmission risks are minimised. I must admit I would prefer to be treated by a doctor or dentist whom was not HIV positive, and it would be nothing against the person. A disease shouldn’t dehumanise anyone. I just know that if I were HIV positive I would never want to risk infecting others, and would certainly never want anyone to infect me either.

The best thing anyone can do is protect others, ourselves, and encourage the progression of medical research.

End of my boring rant.

8 responses

  1. It’s crazy that society thinks of different people are almost less than human. Anyone who has worked in the service industry probably knows what I mean. People don’t even think of you as a person when you are working for them. Karl Marx opened my eyes to that fact in Estranged Labor.

    • I’m familiar with Marx’s Estranged Labour, and it certainly rings true. Also his texts about materialism, how he says spiritual bonds are being created between material things where real spiritual bonds weaken. I’m more partial to Hegel though, his views on societys being reflected in the structures surrounding it, whereas Marx inverted that. Wow I’m really tired, I should sleep before delirum makes this an even more lengthy reply haha

Leave a Reply

