We are like machines?

Cover of "The Cyborg Experiments: The Ext...

Cover via Amazon

I am writing a 10,000 word Dissertation about the cultural and psychological effects of technology [Embodiment, Prosthesis, Cyber Culture]. I’m adopting the attitude of an author, just acting like I’m releasing a book soon, and my publisher has tightened the deadline. And who knows, maybe if it’s good enough at the end I can make it an Internet PDF eBook that you’d like to download?

On my reading list, number 8), the author Joanna Zylinska, is the lady I met last week to discuss my writing. She will be personally supervising my Dissertation, so it’s nice to know I have the advice of a well published author. Her topics on our relation to technology, as well as the ethics and issues, are completely relevant to my interests. But I want to attempt a fresh angle, not mimic the authors below.

My reading list so far:

1) Materializing New Media: Embodiment in Information Aesthetics (Interfaces: Studies in Visual Culture) – Anna Munster

2) Facebook and Philosophy (Popular Culture and Philosophy) – Dylan E. Wittkower

3) How We Became Posthuman: Virtual Bodies in Cybernetics, Literature and Informatics – N. Katherine Hayles

4) TechGnosis: Myth, Magic & Mysticism in the Age of Information – Erik Davis

5) Internet Culture – David Porter

6) The Body (Key Concepts) – Lisa Blackman

7) The Prosthetic Impulse: From a Posthuman Present to a Biocultural Future – Marquard Smith and Joanne Morra

8) The Cyborg Experiments: The Extensions of the Body in the Media Age (Technologies: Studies in Culture & Theory) – Joanna Zylinska

9) Understanding Media: The Extensions of Man – Marshall McLuhan

Have you read any of these? What did you think of them?

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention We are like machines? « My City Shy -- Topsy.com

  2. I have never read any of those books, but if you gt time you should read some stuff by Susan Blackmore on consciousness. She has some lectures on YouTube actually which are pretty entertaining (though I’m not sure how relevant). But I remember reading a bunch on the difference between man and machine and it all goes down to the definition of consciousness. It talks about the Turing test too.

    • Ah yes Susan Blackmore! She actually gave a lecture at my university (Goldsmiths, London) in 08 or 09, but I didn’t hear about it until it was too late to attend. I’ve read some of her books/articles online but not in as much detail as I would like, so I’ll have to do that, thanks.

      Your mentioning of the Turing test makes me miss Asimov. There’s this cool book that describes the paradoxes created by Asimov’s Robotic laws, in conjunction with the Turing test: http://samvak.tripod.com/robot.html

  3. First, to explain: I have a Google alert set up for “Facebook and Philosophy.” So I’m not a creepy stalker, but Google is. This is not news.

    Anyhow, just wanted to let you know that you should email me if I can help out. Sounds like you’ve got a good plan!

    — Dylan Wittkower

    • Thank you so much for leaving this comment, I’m familiar with your works through Goldsmiths uni London. I’m only just starting to write my dissertation, as it’s still in the planning/research phase, but as you are clearly listed as one of the main authors on my reading list, it would be extremely helpful to email you some-point in my process of writing, as I always have a lot of questions in mind.

      Really appreciate,
      Ruth

Leave a Reply

