My new baby rabbit

My question, if anyone cares to answer, is if you could keep any animal as a pet which would it be and why? You can ignore legal or ethical restrictions, as it’s just a game of course.

And yes this is one of those cheesy “aww my new pet” posts. Those who know me realise I’m not all bunnies, rainbows and unicorns, but I do love caring for animals as well as people. I have a dog, a tortoise, a royal python and now a rabbit. Of course, the snake lives separately, and I just upgraded him to a huge 4ft long vivarium so he can stretch, climb and have extra hiding places, he’s a very content snake proven in the way he never ever balls up (even though his species are often nicknamed ‘ball pythons because they ball up when wary, scared or stressed), isn’t afraid to come out any time of the day or night right up to the glass and watch you, likes being handled; I often let him come to me by holding my hand out, not forcing him, and has never skipped a meal, in fact he eats seconds even in the winter months when male pythons often fast.

This is Boe the rabbit. He likes running around, jumping, munching, sleeping and having his chin and tummy rubbed. I like how simple pleasure can be found by making a rabbit happy, which probably makes me sound weird, but I just can’t understand what pleasure some hideous people get from abusing animals.

6 responses

    • I’m glad you have new animals, I remember you telling me a sad tale about animals long ago. Enjoy your lovely kitten, parakeets and guinea pig I’m sure they will be very happy too.

  1. omg you have a ball python?! I’ve always loved them, but I honestly don’t know enough about them to actually own one.. nor do I really have the time to really give to any pets..
    I never knew that was why they were called ball pythons either!!

    (and it’s funny because I was actually considering getting a rabbit a few weeks ago.. but then again.. I didn’t know if I would really have the time to take care of him the way I think I should… so I passed.. one day though..)

    • Hey Fawn nice to meet you, or blog you. That’s really nice & responsible of you to consider whether you’d have the time to care for pets, some people just jump in without really considering the animal’s welfare. But ball pythons are honestly so easy to care for, they’re not like a dog needing walks and constant attention or feeding. I have a post titled ‘Caring for my baby python’ if you care to read, all they need is one meal per week, fresh water, their vivarium spot-checked daily and cleaned out every 4 weeks minimum. They don’t even need attention, but I enjoy giving my python little outings to explore, and the warmth of human touch (only because he responds well to it, not all snakes like it). I also offer new hiding places and toys (for both my rabbit and my snake), so they have comfortable routines but not boredom.

      And you’ll love having a rabbit someday, admittedly they’re much more demanding than a python, it’s like having a child they make lots of mess, play around and need attention always, the house has to be rabbit-proofed if they’re living indoors like mine (electrical wires need to be secured, gaps where they could get stuck, things they could choke on), I’ve litter trained my rabbit already though, they’re as intelligent as a cat.

Leave a Reply

